Elite Athletes/Awards


We welcome elite full and half marathon runners at our race and offer


in total cash prizes. Overall, male and female athletes in first, second and third place for both the full marathon and half marathon will receive cash. See amounts listed below:

Male and Female l Marathon

  • First Place: $500.00 each
  • Second Place: $250.00 each
  • Third Place: $100.00 each
  • Male and Female l Half Marathon

  • First Place: $300.00 each
  • Second Place: $150.00 each
  • Third Place: $75.00 each

  • In order to qualify for a ELITE complimentary race entry, we required proof of finishing time within the last 18months. Below are the minimum race times for men and women. If you qualify and want to request a complimentary entry, please email our Race Director, Samantha Pruitt, at excouchpotato@gmail.com and include your results. We do not offer travel, hotel or other compensation.

    Minimum Requirement Times

  • Men full 2:45
  • Men half 1:20
  • Women full 3:05
  • Women half 1:30


    The San Luis Obispo Marathon and Half Marathon will have overall awards as well as Age Group awards. The Top three male and female finishers overall in the full and half marathon will be recognized on the podium, receive cash awards sponsored by LeftLane Sports and official SLO Marathon merchandise. The top male and female finishers in the marathon receive an engraved antique cow bell. Double dipping is allowed.

    In addition, we have Top three male and female finishers overall awards for both MILITARY & FIRST RESPONDER registered athletes and CHALLENGED ATHLETES. To qualify for either of those two categories you MUST preregister using those options or send us an email in advance of race weekend to get you moved into that category.

    The age group medals will be given to the top three males and top three females in each age category as follows:

  • 18 and under
  • 19-24
  • 25-29
  • 30-34
  • 35-39
  • 40-44
  • 45-49
  • 50-54
  • 55-59
  • 60-64
  • 65-69
  • 70-74
  • 75-79
  • 80 and over

  • The 5K will have Age Group Awards as well in 10 year increments.